Superpowers for Good
Superpowers for Good: Empowering Changemakers for Social Impact via Regulated Investment Crowdfunding from the SuperCrowd.
Teen Political Activist Isaac Nuttall and I Discuss Voter Participation, and Other Issues
0:00
-9:48

Teen Political Activist Isaac Nuttall and I Discuss Voter Participation, and Other Issues

itunes pic


#plugintodevin Show - Devin Thorpe for Congress Guest: Isaac Nuttall. Issue: Making government more of, for, and by the people (i.e Campaign Finance Reform, Improving Voter Participation, etc.) I see many people at my school (Timpanogos), and community abroad, who are affected heavily by voter apathy, seeing no feasible way to improve politics at all level. This has led to depressingly low voter turnout levels for young people in my community, leading to one party holding a monopoly on state and local politics. I know that if young people, my friends, classmates, and neighbors were to engage in the political process, state and local politics would be far more reflective of their, as well as my, pressing issues. This issue of making government more of for and by the people, particularly among traditionally silent voting groups, is paramount above all other issues. I believe that we need extensive campaign finance reform to make our leaders more beholden to their constituents and less to wealthy donors. A solution I support is Seattle's method, in which we give every eligible voter $100 in public money to donate to whatever candidate they want; candidates who accept these donations agree not to accept any donations above $250. As for improving accessibility to voting and decreasing voter apathy, I support measures such as same-day registration, making Election Day a Federal Holiday, and Automatic Voter Registration. However, as long as they are fully accessible to all U.S Citizens, I am not neccessarily worried by Photo-ID Requirements. Bio: My name is Isaac Nuttall. I have lived in seven different places including India, Texas, Philadelphia, Utah, etc... I moved to Lindon Utah from Keller Texas two years ago, having gone to the National Finals of the National History Bee three years in a row, but my interests were rapidly shifting from history to politics, having been shocked along with the rest of the country by the election of Donald Trump. I have volunteered for a handful of political campaigns including Daniel Friend, Luz Escamilla, James Singer, etc... I now love politics and speech and debate, with my main events being Student Congress and Extemporaneous Speaking, which has opened a love within me for the many issues facing our country, and how we as Americans must recognize and work towards the common good. I am most passionate about how we can make politicians more beholden to their constituents and less to wealthy donors, improve access to voting and improve voter participation and in essence, make government more of for and by the people, the issue I hope to speak on in the podcast. Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/isaac.nuttall.52 Linkedin: https://www.linkedin.com/in/isaac-nuttall-9b7928185/ Photo credit: Bell Photography. #plugintodevin #UtahValues #BoldSolutions #UTpol

0 Comments
Superpowers for Good
Superpowers for Good: Empowering Changemakers for Social Impact via Regulated Investment Crowdfunding from the SuperCrowd.
We host changemakers who are using regulated investment crowdfunding for social impact--impact crowdfunding--as impact investors or social entrepreneurs, catalyzing change with leadership skills we call superpowers.