12 Comments
May 24, 2023Liked by Devin Thorpe

Hi Devin,

We dodged it until February. I contracted Covid first and promptly shared it with my wife. Exhaustion was my key problem. It lasted 5 days and then it was gone - sorry to hear that you, Gail, and your son joined the club.

Expand full comment
May 24, 2023Liked by Devin Thorpe

Yes Devin, join the bulk of the country!

Expand full comment
May 24, 2023Liked by Devin Thorpe

Hi Devin! Rest up and feel better soon! I will say -- when I finally got Covid the first time, I kind of felt like I had joined a very big club! We all are thinking of you, Gail and your son! Best, Jackie

Expand full comment
May 24, 2023Liked by Devin Thorpe

Wishing you all a steady and strong recovery!

Expand full comment
May 24, 2023Liked by Devin Thorpe

Sorry to hear that and hope your not too bad, and better soon Devin.

PS

"Coincidentally, our son, who lives 2500 miles away, tested positive at the same time!"

Spooky! You're clearly properly 'entangled' at a very deep level ;-)

Expand full comment
May 24, 2023Liked by Devin Thorpe

Sorry to hear this Devin. Our household also avoided COVID for all these years and it caught up with us a few months ago. My son came home from college for a weekend and by Saturday was feeling cold-like symptoms and by Sunday full flu symptoms (headache, 103 F fever, general malaise) so we had him test with a home test and bingo: positive. It took him a week of quarantine in our guest bedroom to recover with the fever and headaches being the primary symptoms.

Despite our best efforts to stay separated, my wife got it almost exactly a week later. Same symptoms, but add loss of taste and smell. She took slightly longer to recover (about 1-1/2 weeks).

I never got any symptoms and never tested positive using home tests. For what it's worth, both my wife and son somehow never got around to the latest booster, but I did. Maybe that made the difference, but obviously that's anecdotal.

All the best in your recovery!

-Karl

PS: We just got back from 2,200 miles of trailering my Zero Motorcycle using our Tesla and getting just over 2 miles/kWh. I had to think of you two every time we charged at awkward angles relative to the poorly designed charging stations. Once we also had to detach the trailer to get a charge.

Expand full comment