Superpowers for Good
Superpowers for Good: Empowering Changemakers for Social Impact via Regulated Investment Crowdfunding from the SuperCrowd.
#73: Teen Social Entrepreneur Leaves His Mark On The World
0:00
-11:48

#73: Teen Social Entrepreneur Leaves His Mark On The World

itunes pic


July 18, 2014 - Read the full Your Mark on the World article and watch the interview here: http://bit.ly/UeoRBb. Subscribe to this podcast on iTunes by clicking here: http://bit.ly/ymotwitunes or on Stitcher by clicking here: http://bit.ly/ymotwstitcher. Henry Miller launched his social venture (with a little help from his parents) at age eleven. He’s never looked back. His company, Henry’s Humdingers, makes all natural condiments using raw honey. He recently appeared on Shark Tank. He shared his story with me: It all happened one day when me and my mom got on a plane and sat next to this bee farmer. He talked about helping bees and the dreadful hive collapse disorder. He told me humans couldn’t live seven years if bees disappeared. We wouldn’t have enough food because the bees wouldn’t be there to pollinate the corn or the wheat or even tomatoes. OK, I don’t like tomatoes, but I know we need them for stuff like pizza. At the end of the flight my mom said we could get bees and I could start my own company. I told her, Henry’s Humdingers. She laughed and called my dad and now its a real-life thing. The more I learn about bees the more interesting I think they are. Did you know only the old bees collect pollen? I love bees and all the good they do and it makes me crazy to think about all the bad things happening to them. It’s just ughhh, so I am donating part of what I make to my friends over at The Foundation For the Preservation of Honey Bees.

0 Comments
Superpowers for Good
Superpowers for Good: Empowering Changemakers for Social Impact via Regulated Investment Crowdfunding from the SuperCrowd.
We host changemakers who are using regulated investment crowdfunding for social impact--impact crowdfunding--as impact investors or social entrepreneurs, catalyzing change with leadership skills we call superpowers.