Superpowers for Good
Superpowers for Good: Empowering Changemakers for Social Impact via Regulated Investment Crowdfunding from the SuperCrowd.
#243: Nepali Nonprofit Leader: 'I'm Not Discouraged'
0:00
-25:01

#243: Nepali Nonprofit Leader: 'I'm Not Discouraged'

itunes pic


May 13, 2015 - Read the full Forbes article and watch the interview here: http://onforb.es/1Fiu80U. Subscribe to this podcast on iTunes by clicking here: http://bit.ly/ymotwitunes or on Stitcher by clicking here: http://bit.ly/ymotwstitcher. Bishnu Adhikari leads the Nepali efforts of CHOICE Humanitarian, a nonprofit that seeks to end extreme poverty around the world. Since the 7.8 magnitude earthquake on April 25 and the major aftershock of 7.3 magnitude today, CHOICE has been refocusing its short-term energy on emergency relief. Adhikari’s story was told in 2014 in a feature film called Meet the Mormons. The tragedy in Nepal has a personal feel to me. In March, I visited Nepal and spent several days in a remote village with Adhikari helping village families install clean, wood-burning stoves in their homes to replace their open indoor fire pits. I have been worried about those people ever since. I reported on my trip here. Two weeks ago, I did a piece about the work of Effect.org in the immediate aftermath of the earthquake and last week did a story about ShelterBox providing relief to victims who’ve lost their homes. Adhikari is philosophical about the tragedy in his homeland, “It’s a difficult situation but I am not discouraged. I know life has ups and downs. Sometimes we go through these situations for our personal learning. I am grateful I am here and will do whatever I can in my capacity. There are so many things to be grateful for.” The ongoing work in Nepal will continue, Adhikari explains, “Nepal LIFE is an initiative by CHOICE Humanitarian to end extreme poverty in a designated area that can be replicated worldwide. It’s both exciting and humbling to be part of this effort.” He celebrates the success of the program to date, “There are so many wonderful stories about individuals and families we have worked with that are no longer living on $1.25 a day.” Please consider whether a friend or colleague might benefit from this piece and, if so, share it.

0 Comments
Superpowers for Good
Superpowers for Good: Empowering Changemakers for Social Impact via Regulated Investment Crowdfunding from the SuperCrowd.
We host changemakers who are using regulated investment crowdfunding for social impact--impact crowdfunding--as impact investors or social entrepreneurs, catalyzing change with leadership skills we call superpowers.